Choices Lead to Chances

This has been on my mind for some time. Figured it was time to blog about it.

It’s simple really: “Our choices lead way to our chances.” That’s it. Think about it. We cannot achieve everything nor can we make everything happen. Yes. Sometimes we get ‘lucky’ but more often than not, we played a part in being at the right place at the right time. Often, we just need to foster an atmosphere in which those things can grow. We can’t seclude ourselves or hide in a closet. Likewise, we cannot permit ourselves to wallow in our defeats. It may feel impossible, but if you continue thinking you have it rough or that you never catch a break, guess what? You probably won’t. This world can be cruel and rough. There’s no pot of gold at the end of rainbow. It’s going to take a lot more than a hike to discover our treasures here on earth. It’s going to take confidence, determination and an attitude that whatever happens, you’re not giving up.

Remember what I said about hanging out and talking to people who are constantly negative? You’ll get some on you eventually. Be careful who you confide in. If you find yourself not wanting to share news with someone, you better stop and ask yourself why. Will they point out the bad? Will they support a bad decision? Will they encourage you to take another path? Are you confiding in someone just because you know they will support a bad decision?? We are responsible for surrounding ourselves with positive people, starting with ourselves! You may not want to hear their consistently cheery, uplifted voices singing praise for all the little things, but trust me, it’s a hell of a lot better than being around someone who has a gift of finding the bad in every situation. It gets tiresome. It’s gets….heavy. It becomes a burden and without realizing it, it starts to rub off.

This may sound odd, but, you don’t alawys have to believe everything a positive person says, or even everything you tell yourself. Maybe you don’t feel today is going to get any better, but tell yourself, ‘today will be better’ anyway. And if it isn’t. Well, you tried. And now…tomorrow is going to be better. (Get it?) Doesn’t that sound like a much better alternative than telling yourself every morning how much this day is going to suck? It would get to the point where you reluctantly drag yourself out of bed and end up a part of that cable commerical on TV reenacting movie scenes with Charlie Sheen. (bahaha!) I mean, really. Life will have its moments of sucking, so let it suck on its own. 😉

I see myself in my daughter…she’s going through a hard time right now. Lots of new responsibilities on the horizon, opportunities and choices at every turn, and a broken heart to boot. Yet I read as she posts words of encouragement on her Facebook page. I know she’s hurting, but she’s keeping her chin up. She had her moment of solace and now, she’s picking up and moving on. She’s making choices that will lead to chances. She’s like a little mini-me. I want to cry because I’m so proud. I know she won’t always make the right decision, but she’s thinking them through, confiding in the right people and she’s making them. She’s not letting life control her, she’s taking control of her life. Even if we don’t believe it, there are powers in our words. Yes. Plural. They can be powers of good or powers of bad. We can expound a view of negativity and constant sorrow, or we can allow ourselves a period of bereavement and move on. It’s a choice…and choices lead way to our chances. (I’m so proud of you sis, and I’ll always be here for you, even when I have to say the things I know you don’t want to hear. Just like my Mom did for me.)

If we settle for being at the bottom of the hill, we will stay there. If we compromise our happiness by embracing defeat and sadness in the valley, we will miss out on our chance to return once again to the top of the mountain. My boyfriend told me the other day, “the mountain isn’t so scary for a climber.“ So, BE that climber. I’m not saying you can’t be sad, can’t have a bad day, what I’m saying is, don’t permit yourself to stay in the valley. Take life for what it is: a series of lessons and tests, a roller coaster of ups and down. Don’t fool yourself in believing it’s easy for anyone and more importantly, don’t give up…don’t let chances get away.

 

NOTE: I wrote this is a hurry so forgive me for not editing and revising. I just wanted to get this posted…I had the chance, so I took it 🙂

Oh. And as I write about my daughter, I realized, it’s my mother’s birthday. She’d be 81…wow. In 2001 she had a stroke that paralyzed her entire left side. Two years later, on Easter Sunday, she passed away. That day I lost my top advisor, my biggest skeptic and my #1 fan, but I am comforted, and motivated, by the thought that she continues to surround me, looking down and smiling on me from time to time. I hope she sees all the things she taught me. Not only with the words she said, but by the way in which she lived. More importantly, I hope she sees how I’ve carried that love, confidence, devotion and determination to my daughter. ❤ Happy birthday, Mom. 🙂

2 responses to “Choices Lead to Chances

  1. Thank you for this wonderful post.. I was being really down lately but your post lifted me up again.

    I was spiritually exhausted.. It was Easter Sunday today but I did not go to church. I don’t know what I was thinking but I just didn’t feel like going. I had been skipping church service for a few weeks already. There are a lot of stuffs I needed to work on but I wasn’t actually doing any of them.. I don’t know.. I just lost the motivation to work on them.. even though I know how deadly the consequences can be..

    Deep down in me, I was yelling for help. I needed some guidance, I needed some advice. I needed somebody to wake me up, scold me and tell me what I was doing was wrong. And I waited and waited and waited. Nobody actually came to guide me, and I had been using that as an excuse for me to continue procrastinating.

    Every night I was reluctant to go to bed, and every morning I was reluctant to get off the bed. I regretted every night and promised myself I would not procrastinate anymore the next day. But the next day had just been the same. The cycle just repeated.

    But tonight was a bit different. There was like a voice within me that told me to search for guidance, search for a direction. And so I opened up Google and typed “blog my walk with god”. I don’t know why I typed that. And so the top search result was your blog.

    At first I was shocked to see the exact title “My Walk with God” you’re using for your blog. But now I am sure God has heard me. He has heard my yell. And he’s lending me a hand through you.

    This post completely relates to the problems I am having now.
    I had been taking all the great chances I had recently for granted. Everything seemed to be favoring me lately and that made me a bit lazy to do any tasks I have on hand. But your post reminded me that Choices Lead to Chances.

    All the great chances I’m having right now are from the good choices I have made in the past. And they are not permanent. Choices I make now will lead to chances that will come in near future. I almost forgot about that.

    Thank you so much.. God never left me though I left Him..
    I am very sorry to hear about your mother. I believe she must be having a great time in heaven right now, celebrating Easter and knowing how her daughter has continued the way she lived and inspired people like me who were once blinded.

    You are great and God bless you abundantly.

    • Thank you Leo. That inspires me as well. What’s funny is, I’ve been wanting to write that for about a month now and something told me now was the time. Glad you found my blog and hope you continue to be inspired. 🙂

Leave a Reply

