Time Can Be Our Enemy or Time Can Be Our Friend

Soooo. What do I write? So many things float through my head on a regular basis but when I sit in front of my computer, ready to write, I go blank. Argh….Oh wait!!

I’ve been reading “Facing Your Giants” by Mac Lucado. The chapters are filled with comparisons to stories in the bible, especially those of David and Goliath. I know, I know. We’ve all heard this story before, but c’mon, we don’t have to be youngsters or Christians to appreciate taking down a thug, right? Picture it: little puny, runt, David who probably gets picked on by all 7 of his brothers and other cruel kids, slays the loud mouth, sword wielding, 9 foot monster with a mere stone and a sling. How poetic is that??

Max highlights that we all face giants in our lives. Sometimes more than one at a time: unemployment, addiction, controlling boss, abusive relationships, bills, argumentative people, obesity, etc. One giant he didn’t mention that stuck in my head, is that giant of ‘time’. Time can be our enemy or time can be our friend. I wrote a poem with that line once and it’s never escaped me. It’s so true. We all battle this giant from time to time (no pun intended). We have to wait for test results from the doctor, or wait to hear from our loved one who is serving over seas, or wait while we adjust to a new diet, or wait to see a loved one, wait for the urge to subside, wait for a call, wait for a delivery…wait… wait… wait. What is waiting but an accumulation of time? Ugh.

The most basic concept we need to draw from the story of David and Goliath is  David’s focus. It wasn’t on how big the giant was or how mean he looked or the fearful things he was saying, his focus was on God. 1 Samuel 17:45-47. So while we are staring down the eyes of our giant, we need to remember to not stare at the uncertainity of employment, the death grip of addiction, or the agony of waiting, but the hope of tomorrow. The promises of God. (Deuteronomy 31:6 ,John 12:46Matt. 11:28, Isaiah 43:1.) The love of the right now. The love of the promises! Time has no purpose or meaning to God. God is the purpose. Don’t fear your giants, those who ridicule you or say you can’t do it or try to trip you. Focus on Jesus because He knows you can. Know that God will leave a stone right where it needs to be when it’s your time to throw. Just keep moving forward towards Him. You’ll get there…in time.

David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the LORD will deliver you into my hands, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. This very day I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds and the wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel. 47 All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”  ~ 1 Samuel 17:45-47

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” ~ Deuteronomy 31:6

“I have come into the world as light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.” ~ John 12:46  

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” ~ Matt. 11:28

Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine” ~ Isaiah 43:1

3 responses to “Time Can Be Our Enemy or Time Can Be Our Friend

  1. Jeanne Gansman

    Hi, Angie. I always enjoy your writings and insights. Very thought-provoking and nicely done ! Thanks for sharing with us. — Jeanne

  2. Great post my friend Angie,

    So true if we stay focused on GOD and not the Giants in our lives we come do so much better –

    In love and light,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

