Do What it Takes to Get What You Want

“Whatever u want in life, etch it deep within your soul. Cling to it and refuse to let go. Don’t settle for what u can get. Do what it takes to get what u want.”

This is one of many posts I made on Facebook Monday. So why is this one so special? Well, it just is.

I’ve been reading “The Power of a Praying Woman” by Stormie Omartian. (Great book, btw.) There’s a chapter about cleansing ourselves and making our hearts right. After reading I walk away with this analogy: none of us are perfect but if we are going to get anywhere we have to start by looking inward. It is usually ourselves that prevent us from moving forward, from getting out of the rut we so often find ourselves in. We can be our own worst enemy. Fortunately that’s where God comes in. When we have our blinders on, when when our eyes are blinded, God can open them…if we ask Him and really mean it. We cannot shy away and continue to make excuses for our downfalls. We have to continue to confess and repent – not just apologize. We have to try our damnest to not do it again. We have to take action, be proactive – not just settle. God is there to help as we reveal the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Some sin we recognize but others we do not: murder, adultery, gossip, doubt, selfishness, dishonesty – all sins. But we make up excuses. The last thing many of us want to do is expose ourselves to the ugly truth so we opt for what feels good right here, right now; what is easiest and less conflicting to get what we feel will ‘complete’ us – but we must face the mirror if we are going to refuse to settle, if we are going to produce any kind of real change in our lives. We have to wake up and realize that others do not determine our value; others cannot release us from the pit we put ourselves in. Friends are wonderful, don’t get me wrong, but if you are expecting them to throw you a lifeline of change, you’re in for a major disappointment. They can throw a lifeline but it’s up to us to grab it. God throws us a new lifeline every day. But we get so accustom to our ways that we become oblivious to the err in them. Not until we are willing to accept responsibility can we truly do something about it and make a change that is going to amount to anything. True change starts from within. Others cannot tell us our problem or how to fix them – that rests inside us. As I heard Creflo Dollar speak, ‘run to the Throne, not the phone.

If anyone were to ask me the most important lesson I’ve learned in my walk/life, I’d say it’s that being true to yourself is worth more than anything. It’s easy to say I am not perfect…duh. But to say why and actually do something about it – that’s where the change begins. Same actions produce same results.

So here is where I drive the end of my post home: ‘Do what it takes to get what u want’. If you truly want change, you have to start from within. No one can do it for you and no one carries a magic feather. It’s inside each of us. If you’re like me, life is great but there’s just that one area, that one piece that is missing. For me, it’s the longing of a special, good man in my life. Yet, as each day passes and I put more and more faith and control in God’s hands, I am more0 comforted to wait. Until we unite, I am willing to invest in myself with God as my guide because God knows I don’t need a man to complete me, rather, he will compliment me, and I him.

“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” ~ Matthew 26:41

“Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” ~ 1 Corinthians 15:58

“By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established; through knowledge its rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures.” ~ Proverbs 24:3-4

“As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another. ” ~ Proverbs 27:17

One response to “Do What it Takes to Get What You Want

  1. This post is exactly what I needed today..keep sharing Angie. You are a blessing!

Leave a Reply

