The Easiest Habits are the Hardest to Break

A friend told me a few mornings ago that I’m ‘expecting rather than accepting…we only control ourselves.’ Wow! I so needed to hear that and figured there are others out here who need to hear it, too.

It’s good to have expectations, but as with anything in the wrong proportion or wrong situation it could be dangerous. Sometimes accepting is more important, even when that means we need to accept that we don’t fully have control over an area of our lives yet (or ever). Maybe we need to a avoid situation – or as addicts would call them ‘triggers’ – until we learn to control ourselves. We can’t blame others for allowing us to trip up, we must take ownership, accept that it is our responsibility and no one elses. That’s also where control comes in: in the end it we will be the only one standing in front of those pearly gates. We all know you can’t control others, but we do have the ability to control ourselves. It’s something I feel we continue learning throughout our time in this world.

I’m still learning to accept. I don’t like the unknown…I don’t like change…the unfamiliar. It’s scary. But, I know that if I trust in God and just keep doing the best I can, it will all work out. And, just when I think I’m doing my best, I have to try even harder. The easiest habits are the hardest to break…I’m use to being this way, but I don’t like it. I have the determination, the will, the want. Now, I just need to push on. Accept it’s going to be hard, and I’m never giving up.

“Surely there is a future, and your hope will not be cut off.” ~ Proverbs 23:18

Know that wisdom is such to your soul; if you find it, there will be a future, and your hope will not be cut off.” ~ Proverbs 24:14

 “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from Him.” ~ Psalm 62:5

4 responses to “The Easiest Habits are the Hardest to Break

  1. I just started learning this “acceptance” concept about two weeks ago, and it has been an enormous help in changing the way I think. I get so much more done, and I actually enjoy what I’m doing.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. You go my friend – accepting what a beautiful, elegant word….you are on your journey – your path of acceptance!
    In light and love,
    Nancy

  3. This is so true.
    Thanks for the reminder.
    ~ In Gratitude
    Jaki 🙂

  4. This is beautiful, love that word accepting. We are all going trough this journey happy to be sharing this journey with wonderful angels!

    Many blessings!
    ~Marie-Suzy

Leave a Reply

