YEOWCH! Avoiding Life’s Stingers

"Delight yourself in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass ... Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him." Psalm 37:4-7

"Delight yourself in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass ... Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him." Psalm 37:4-7

Campus is beautiful with acres and acres of flowers, shrubbery and trees. As a result, there is a lot of wildlife activity every where you turn. On my walk back to my office earlier this week I spotted a butterfly fluttering amongst the flowers etching the side of the building. My heart was immediately lifted and I caught myself smiling. No sooner did I see the butterfly, I noticed a bumble bee. My smile quickly faded and I quickly stiffened up and stepped away to avoid it. That day I knew God was trying to tell me something. Yesterday while walking the same path it came to me: here are two very similar things, they both fly and are beautiful creatures but, as a result of experience and/or the experience of others, you don’t befriend the bee because of its’ stinger. It may look attractive and you may want to pursue it, but it’s bad for you. That’s what God is showing me…He wants to help me to discern those who have stingers and those who do not. Those who are good for me and those who are not…

Don’t get me wrong. It’s not bad to believe in people, but for someone like me, believing in the wrong people can be draining. I can look back and see how it has lead me away from the teachings God has in store for me, from the blessings God wants to pour into my life. I want to believe so bad that I ignore the signs. Like a spoiled child, I want love right now! {Insert foot stomp here} I have so much love inside of me that I believe it’s enough for two…but I’m only cheating myself to think that a bee won’t sting me at some point. He may not sting the first hour – which only helps create soul ties – but he might the second or the third. It’s inevitable; a high risk venture. No wonder I keep losing bits of myself. I need to stop sacrificing myself in hopes of miraculously uncovering a true kind of love. Someone should love me for who I am today and who I want to be tomorrow – not just for who I am to them and what I do for them. The love God has in store for me doesn’t need to be polished…I’m the one who needs to be polished. Love is waiting for me yet I’ve been fooling around with too many damn bees. I’m the one who’s not ready yet.

There are consequences for choosing things that are bad for us. While we can safely admire a bee from a distance it is crazy to try and pick him up. On the same end, it is nearly impossible to catch a butterfly without a net, however that’s another thing I’ve noticed; there have been several times that a butterfly has hovered around me as I’ve walked around campus. One Tuesday a butterfly followed me all the way from my car to the front entrance of the library. I thought it was cool, and strange, but I think it was a continuation of His message to me. Love is here…and love will find me but only when I am ready. I don’t need to search for it. I just need to work on myself and let God work in me. Love will happen…naturally, and it will be a love like nothing I’ve ever experienced because God’s hand will be all over it, polished to perfection. Praise You, Lord.

“He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it.” ~ 1 Peter 3:11  

“Dear friend, do not imitate what is evil but what is good. Anyone who does what is good is from God. Anyone who does what is evil has not seen God.” ~ 3 John 1:11  

The Parable of the Weeds Explained  

He answered, “The one who sowed the good seed is the Son of Man. The field is the world, and the good seed stands for the sons of the kingdom. The weeds are the sons of the evil one, and the enemy who sows them is the devil. The harvest is the end of the age, and the harvesters are angels. As the weeds are pulled up and burned in the fire, so it will be at the end of the age. The Son of Man will send out his angels, and they will weed out of his kingdom everything that causes sin and all who do evil. They will throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth. Then the righteous will shine like the sun in the kingdom of their Father. He who has ears, let him hear.” ~ Matthew 13:37-43

7 responses to “YEOWCH! Avoiding Life’s Stingers

  1. Awesome post Angie. I can so identify. 🙂

  2. Pingback: YEOWCH! Avoiding Life's Stingers

  3. Love this analogy. Thanks Angie!!

  4. Pingback: Dior Lady » YEOWCH! Avoiding Life’s Stingers

  5. Amazing thats how you have made me feel, and if you knew where I was in life and knew me you would know that I needed something amazing to pull me back from the brink. My life has been one calamity after another since the day that I was born, and right now Im in another soul destroying time. I googled “GoD show me a sign to strengthen me” and you appeared with your wisdom of GoDs love through Jesus Christ. Like you I have been back and forth in and out of my relationship with GoD between many toxic relationships as you call them, neglecting the one true relationship we all should have with GoD first and foremost. My relationship with GoD has been anything but consistent. But everytime I neglect Him ka-pow! I find myself in the most dreadful of times. Like you too all I ever wanted was love sincere love, and have had many relationships in my search for a Soulmate (Please do not think I’m am trying to hit on you, I am in no need nor state for any kind of relationship, except my relationship with GoD, which you have helped open my eyes a little bit wider to) Now I know my Soulmate is GoD, He is everyones Soulmate He is the only one that truly knows me….. every hair on my head.
    I have believed for many years that GoD has a purpose for me, a divine purpose, and that my trials were lessons to wring the sins from me by showing me the Truth in many painful ways, and I was drenched. I have been the most stupid the most blind of any called by GoD surely the most reluctant. I am faced now with such pain and heartache for a time to come, have endured such pain and heartache many times in the past, but my hope is this time I will not let GoD down and I shall be all that He wants me to be…a loving honorable respectful son, who walks in the way of the Lord Jesus Christ.
    My prayer to GoD in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ is for Forgiveness, and the strength and wisdom to live my life according to His Will.
    John

  6. I’m in the running for being the most reluctant, John. But just as everything has an opposite, our strong-will, our determination has a bad side. Stubbornness. We have to relinquish control and that’s hard for people like us. We want our will but now that we’ve let God in, He’s not going to allow us to give up. He will keep allowing us to circle around the mountain, waiting to hear His ever sweet, ever still voice calling us.
    I’m glad you found my blog, John. Don’t give up…give in to God, but don’t ever give up. We are worth it. He knows that. Now it’s time we recognize it, too.

  7. Pingback: YEOWCH! Avoiding Life’s Stingers | Butterfly

Leave a Reply

