A Three-Ply Cord Not Easily Broken

Today is tough. My niece is getting married. I have to sit there and watch a couple unite before God and family, professing their love, their commitment, their bond. Don’t get me wrong, it’s just hard to attend a wedding when you’re freshly divorced. I believe in love and I am incredibly happy for her. She deserves it like no other – she’s been following God for some time, even sacrificing having a relationship so she could attend bible school. I took their engagement photos over the summer and during the session I got a great shot focusing on them holding hands. They looked at each other and gasped. I didn’t understand so she explained that their belief was that kissing and sex was for after marriage, that the one thing they do to show intimacy is, hold hands. HOW AWESOME! I thought. And I captured that without even knowing.

Anyway, these are two extremely blessed people and I’m so happy they’ve found each other. I pray their marriage is made tight with the Lord as their third cord – let me explain. First, read this:

9Two are better than one,
       because they have a good return for their work:

 10 If one falls down,
       his friend can help him up.
       But pity the man who falls
       and has no one to help him up!

 11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
       But how can one keep warm alone?

 12 Though one may be overpowered,
       two can defend themselves.
       A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” ~ Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

As this was explained to me, when you put God into the heart of your relationship, it is like creating a strong three ply cord. Twisting fibers together forms a rope making it stronger, right? One strand alone is weak, yet two is strong, add yet a third, and that cord is even more resilient. Get where I’m going with this? When one cord gets weak it has the other to lean on, but what if both grow weak? Having that third cord adds even greater strength. Alone we know can lean on God for strength so why not include Him in our most important vow and commitment to the one we profess our love to in front of family and friends? When God is the cornerstone, all other bonds are strengthened, fortified. He becomes our stronghold, our center, our ROCK. Combine that parable with these verses:

“May we let go of the world’s view on self, and get back to love. “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1 Cor. 13:4-13

And there you have it. Love + God. That’s all you need to make anything great. Make God your cornerstone. Get back to love. I love that: “GET BACK TO LOVE.” Quit complaining how you don’t like this or that, quit griping about how you never or she/he never. GET BACK TO LOVE. I feel compelled to say this right now: someone needs to renew their wedding vows. Don’t let this world strip you of what God has blessed. Let go of what the world has convinced you of and get back to the real principles of life. There’s too much to worry about, too much flesh. Get right with God and get your marriage back on track. Relationships take work. Nothing worth having is ever easy and starting over is not the answer. No one is perfect. Turn to God and let Him settle your hearts. Pray together. Pray for each other. And most importantly, put God, that third cord, back into your marriage. Let love reign once again in your hearts.

Wow. Don’t know where that came from. Back to what I was saying… surprisingly, the one who explained that three-cord parable to me was my nephew. He couldn’t have been but 19-20 at the time. Such a wise man, but then again, he has a wise mother. (My sister, the one who led me to God.) Be sure to plant your faith seeds today: in your children, in your husband, in your neighbor, in the stranger as you walk out the bank…in your own heart. It will sprout in time. When it’s ready. No sooner. Leave a little love everywhere you go. Leave a smile, leave a note, leave a prayer, leave a blessing. Leave a little love…

I will be present as God Himself is edified tonight as two people demonstrate the purist act of love known to man. I will ask God to bless this union of Jessica and Shane tonight. I will pray that God follows them all the days of their lives and strengthens them as one. I ask that He be their Cornerstone, their third cord. I pray He will solidify the love they have for each other so that 50 years from now, the glow of this day will still resonant between them. Praise God. 

I can say, I am at peace. Maybe I’ll never get married again. Maybe I will. For now I just have to work on me, and I’m seeing real progress. I am more willing to just accept things for what they are. I have…patience. WOW! I JUST REALIZED THAT! Huh. And to think I was afraid to pray for that. Then again, maybe all the times I’ve drove myself up a wall lately, maybe that was the purpose: to instill in me that some things just take time. It is what it is. Time…remember? I’m loving me more than I ever have and I think that’s because I’m honestly trying to be the person God wants me to be. Even in the darkness I see a tunnel of light ahead of me. I set my sights on that light and I bear forward. I am not afraid. I’m learning how to put on God’s armor. I’m getting to know myself better: what makes me tick… and what needs to be shed. I cannot express the gratitude I have to my Savior for all He has done.

Thank God. Bless you, bless yours. Now I’m off to the wedding….

5 responses to “A Three-Ply Cord Not Easily Broken

  1. This is an awesome post. I think more relationships (friendships, marriage)would be blessed if we would all remember to bring God into them. We get caught up in the things of life and forget about God. We need Him to protect our relationships. The enemy likes to destroy them. Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Oh Angela. I could never picture you as a black sheep! I fit that more than you ever did! I am so glad that you have gotten the chance to spend precious time with your family. And wonderful it was to get to see your childhood home- I wish I could go and see my Grandma & Grandpa Seidl’s home – it was the gathering place for my family for so many years. May the Lord ALWAYS be with you and all of your family!

  3. Ha! Dawn…I was about as black sheep as you could get! Remember, I was a dork in high school! Didn’t fit in with the ‘cool’ crowd, didn’t fit in with the ‘nerds’…I just…existed. No wonder I take rejection so hard. But those days are behind me. I’m better now because of it 🙂
    Thanks so much for your kind words. You made my day 🙂

  4. TX for writing such a powerful message, iIwould like to print out your blog post so I can read them daily.Such wonderful insights and great reflections!

  5. Thank you Linneah! I need to post another blog. Haven’t done so in awhile.

Leave a Reply

