Praise You in this Storm

Some days I really need to hear this song. Maybe you do, too. We wonder why God allows certain hurts, pains…but there’s always a reason. Reminds me of a story I heard or read a long time ago. Jesus and a man were traveling together. Of course, no one knew He was Jesus. He appeared as a regular man down on his luck. The pair go to a wealthy couple’s house and ask if they could stay the night to get out of the weather and possibly have something to eat because they had been traveling for some time without food or drink. The wealth couple reluctantly agrees but only allows them to stay in the delapidated outbuidling and only gives them some molded bread and water to eat and drink. Once they settled in these surroundings, Jesus started patching holes in the wall and repairing bad planks in the floor. The man, not understanding why He would do this for the wealthy, didn’t question Him at that point. The next night, they come across a poor farm couple who had been working his fields all day in the hot sun. They gladly welcomed them in and the husband and wife joyfully shared what little food the wife had prepared. The wife got out extra blankets for them and set them up in a spare bedroom just off from theirs. That morning, the husband woke up and began weaping deeply after discovering his price bull dead lay in the fields.

The man is totally confused now and he turns to Jesus and says, “Jesus, why would you help the rich couple who were so rude to us but these fine people, you allow their one source of income to die? I don’t understand.” Jesus smiles and turns to him and answers, “I patched the holes and the floor boards because their was money hidden in them and they were already consumed with greed. I sealed the walls and floor so the treasure would not be found. As for the kind couple, his wife was to die, so instead I had them take his bull.”

Sometimes, things feel horrible and we can’t see the good, but it’s there. Maybe I didn’t tell this story exactly as I heard it, but I hope it impacts you just the same. God never said there would not be trials, but He did say He would never leave nor forsake us.

Lord, even through my trials and tribulations I will praise Your holy name. I know it is in these times that the most growth occurs. Allow it to let me draw closer to You. You are a Lord who gives and takes away, yet nothing is mine to claim. No matter where I am, let me never forget You, as I know You will never leave me. Even when I feel I cannot carry on, it is You that I turn to. Whisper to me God as I raise my hands and praise your name. Wipe my tears and hold me in Your everloving arms. I love you Jesus. I praise Your glorious name for I know You only have plans for me to prosper. Help me stay in Your light, and let me never stray from You. Thank you Jesus. Amen

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” ~ Deuteronomy 31:6

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” ~ Deuteronomy 31:8

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds,” ~ James 1:2

“In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.” ~ 1 Peter 1:6

Leave a Reply

